Hey bunqers 🌈
Sharing a sub-account with your friends or loved ones has never been easier! Unveil the potential of Joint Accounts and find out everything you need to know about them in this topic 🙌
What's a Joint Account?
The Joint Account gives you the ability to have 2+ legal owners of a monetary account all within a matter of seconds! Make sure that each person has their own bunq account, and then you're all set to create the Joint Account within seconds. This feature is available for all Personal Easy Bank, Easy Money and Easy Green users 📲
All account owners will get an instant notification whenever someone makes a purchase/deposit and there’s no limit on the amount of Joint Accounts that you can open.
How do I create a Joint Account?
Just click here or follow the steps mentioned below:
- Go to Home
- Click on 🟣 + Add
- Tap on 🟡 Add Partner
- Pick who you want to share the Joint Account with!
- Personalize the account
How many people can I invite?
When it comes to the number of members in a Joint Account, the limit is 10 people. Therefore, you can invite up to 9 people with active individual Personal accounts. All owners are equally divided legal owners of the Joint Account.
How can I close a Joint Account?
- Go to Home
- Tap on the Joint Account
- Select Settings
- Tap on Close account
Note: A Joint Account is legally owned by all users it has been initially shared with. This means that no new users can gain access to it at a later point in time due to legal regulations. When the Joint Account is closed - it's deactivated for all parties involved and can't be reactivated.
Good to know
- The Joint Account counts towards the maximum of 25 sub-accounts.
- You can't re-open a Joint Account once it's closed from you in the app.
- Maestro cards have the IBAN of the Joint Account printed on them. Yet, cards are bounded to card owners so it will only show the name of the cardholder.
- All of the funds are shared, meaning that if you have negative balance this is shared amongst the legal owners as well.
- You can also request a switch service for a Joint Account as explained here
- When you send out payments from your Joint Account, the receiving party will see a "CJ" at the end of the sender's name. The CJ part is to point out that it's a Joint Account,
- You can't set up a Joint Account with a Business user. However, you can share access from a personal account through Shared Access.
- If one of the owners wants to close the account, the entire account will need to be closed and there is no way of keeping the account as closing the account is equally shared as well.
- When you go to your Joint sub-account, you can see who paid what by checking the little circle with your or your partner’s profile pic. This way you’ll be able to keep track of your payments and expenses easier than ever 💪